SHERRI SHEPHERD:TOO MANY ABORTIONS TO COUNT

CLICK ON IMAGE TO ENLARGE

Sherri Shepherd says that she has had too many abortions to count. This is what The View’s co-host had to say in a recent interview with PreciousTimesMagazine:

“My sister was heavy into drugs, and we would have to go and get her from crack houses,” Shepherd, 41, says.

At the time, the stand-up comic — then a Jehovah’s Witness – was “in a very physically abusive relationship,” she said. “I was sleeping with a lot of guys and had more abortions than I would like to count.”

She said her self-esteem became so low, “I felt if someone killed me, it wouldn’t even make a difference.”

But after converting to Christianity, she said, “God showed me that it would make a difference.”

(Shepherd has also said she relied on her faith to get through her split with husband Jeff Tarpley, father of their 3-year-old son. During their seven-year marriage, Tarpley cheated on her and got another woman pregnant.)

Still, Shepherd admitted it is tough talking religion on the popular ABC chat-fest. (She received criticism after she once remarked that ancient Greeks persecuted Christians, even though Christ hadn’t been born yet.)

“Oh, sometimes I say, ‘Lord, Juanita Bynum or Joyce Meyer would be so good at this table. They could lay hands on Barbara Walters and get her saved,'” she said.

“I ask the Lord, ‘Why am I here?'” Shepherd added. “I have to trust God when He says, ‘Because I said so.'”

Sherri is now blessed to now have a 3 year-old son named Jeffrey by her ex-husband Jeff Tarpley. Although Jeffrey Jr was born prematurely and is a little slow in learning,Sherri has admitted that her son is her “little miracle.”

PeopleMagazine December2007issue

SOURCE

~ by blackcelebritykids on July 23, 2008.

28 Responses to “SHERRI SHEPHERD:TOO MANY ABORTIONS TO COUNT”

  1. Her son looks like her.. He has great curls.

  2. He does and they look very happy in the picture.

  3. I don’t know why she is mentioning her being a Jehovah Witness because you are taught to wait until you get married to have sex. I am a Jehovah Witness, I have lived a clean life by studying with JEhovah Witnesses. Sherri is trying to find excuse for murder.

  4. Wow! Is that that boy’s hair

  5. ?

  6. I love it when people like her and the williams sisters and michael jacksons whole screwed up family mention theyre jehovahs witnesses. No wonder people think theyre crazy i mean damn. I know some JW’s and yeah theyre not much into cruising crack houses and screwing around with a whole bunch of guys. So basically she was a bad JW now shes a ‘good’ christian.
    No wonder she believes in god, shes lucky enough to have a son after putting her fertility at risk a hell of a lot not to mention her sexual health. Condoms people, theyre cheap and most clinics give them away for free. Or cross your legs. Tigh

  7. SOME OF YOU GUYS ARE TO FUNNY! YOU TAKE THE POSITIVE N FLIP IT THAT IS Y PEOPLE ARE TO SCARED TO BE THEMSELVES THESE DAYS!

    The sons hair is throwing me off a lil!
    Other than that I am proud of her coming out of that rut she was once living and now seeing the light at the tunnel, no matter what faith she believes in!

  8. I am sorry, I am ususally not a judgmental person. I can see making “one” mistake and learning, growing and moving on, but to kill so many innocent babies is inexcusable. I lost a bit of respect for her after reading this. I know we all make mistakes and I am in no way a saint BUT children, born and unborn should be protected. Kudos to her for turning her life around though.

  9. tricia she can mention about her being whatever religion she wants. cudos to you for being such a clean ‘jw’, thats great. keep up the good work in your faith. people mess up everyday sin does not choose religons. just because you clam a religion does not mean that your are exempt from sin. its great that shes in a better situation than previous. religon does not save you!!!

  10. That chil’s hair has to go. He looks like a pimp in training with that hairstyle.

  11. lmao at pimp in training….

  12. I have to say whatever she did in her past she seems to have have turned her life around. We all have our trials and tribulations. Before I met my husband I was a mess. I feel in love with and wanted to be a better person because he saw promise in me I felt to bad and insecure to see in myself. I have grown so much since we have been together. I still have a way to go but when I look at how far I have come that I can do anything. When I know he loved me I wanted to be a better person for him now I want to be the best example possible for my kids. I think if more people tried to set the right example for their children the kids would not be so screwed up today. That and the fact they took paddling and prayer out of the schools. (Just my opinion). I never had an abortion. I was never in the position to even have to consider having but I have sisters that have and I was so upset with them because they didn’t consider how them doing that would affect everyone around them. I felt cheated of a niece or a nephew. I love my family and I know they probably did what they felt was the best thing for them to do but I think they should have used protection if they were not ready for kids. However my being at my all time low made me understand they didn’t because they didn’t feel good enough about themselves to use protection. The abortion only served as a means to feel even worse about themselves.

  13. Yeah I agree that hair has to go. I thought he was a girl until I saw it said son.

  14. Wowwww- never would’ve guessed that. Good that she’s recovered and found her path in life. Can’t believe the little boy’s hair looks like 90’s rapper Drew Downs’.;0

  15. **Dru Down

  16. She needs to keep some things to herself. Now when I look at her all I’ll think about is all the abortions this woman has had. One time is an oops, but come on. Too many to count? That’s really pathetic and irresponsible. About her son’s hair….just no.

  17. WTF? I don’t even know where to start.

  18. Alright yes I do. First, on today’s show she said she believes all the babies she aborted were waiting to see their mommy up in heaven. I have no words… Second, she will never get another husband due to putting her business out there like that on national TV. Third, I think her son is adorable. But he definitely needs a new hairstyle instead of Kris Kross mixed with Shirley Temple. She seems really nice just too open with her life and past. In other words shut up.

  19. Isn’t this the same chick who said something about the world being flat??

  20. ok the more i look at that kids head its freaking me out. those curls are freaky, hed look much nicer with it shaved the hell off.

  21. I commend Sherri for coming out and telling her story. I don’t think she meant to glorify abortions or put down the Jehovah Witness faith. I think she was simply telling what happened to HER in HER life prior to her getting close to GOD. there are some who are criticizing her because she mentioned that at the time this occured she was a JW, well guess what? She was! If you would look at the article the writer pointed that fact out! Trust, it is someone out there that will read her article and get just a little something from it and I believe that was her reasoning for telling HER story! Quit being so judgemental. It’s NOT a good look!

  22. He’s cute, but the hair HAS TO GO!
    and I agree.. I lost some respect for her too! I am pro-choice, but “too many to count”.. that’s just NASTY!!!!!!!

  23. Anonymous it is all in the way you look at it. When she said too many to count that could very well mean 1-2. That is more than enough to feel remorse for.

  24. This really disturbs me and I will probably be up all night thinking of how she killed her own kids whom she obviously didn’t consider to be people,but they were.I didn’t watch the view much, but now I can’t watch at all.

  25. NASTY AND PLEASE TAKE THEM CURLS OUT YA SON HAIR GIVE HIM SOME BRAIDS…

  26. I think we need to check ourselves on several accounts. First, there seems to be a notion that one or two abortions are okay, but more than two is “disgusting.” I think it is interesting how we create these artificial boundaries of righteousness and morality. A life is a life; one abortions or six abortions: what is really the difference? Does the number of abortions a women undergoes change your views on abortion? I am not a perfect man by any means, but really, people in glass houses … (you know the rest).

    Second, don’t shoot the messenger. Abortion is the most common surgery for all women in America! Black women are three times more likely than white women to have abortions! In fact, 1500 black women have abortions every day. For every two black babies that are born, one black baby is aborted. And to be truthful, I am sure that a lot of these no job-having, non-condom wearing, prison-record having black men encourage a lot of these abortions (lest we not forget how Nas and Jay-Z and Method Man who co-signed on aborting thier children). She is shedding some light on a situation that we want to keep in the dark. I am glad that “our” business is out in the street, because maybe we will get our act together.

    Three, we need to realize that abortion is killing our community. Aside from the millions of black babies who will never see this earth, unprotected sex is the reason why our HIV rates are so high. It’s no coincidence that black women represent the fastest growing segment of HIV cases in this country.

    I think we need radical solutions to solve this enormous problem. We need to start by teaching our sons to marry thier FIRST baby’s mother! A girlfriend, or a wifey, is not a wife. A child, and a mother, needs the love and support of a father, and husband, respectively. Also, we need to teach our young women to stop settling for bullshit men. Women, ask a man if you get pregnant, does he love you enough to marry you? If his answer is no, you need to be on the pill, the patch, and a cap! Even better, you should be on to the next man who actually sees you for more than a just a piece. If a man is not going to marry you when you are bearing his child, then (excuse my french) does he really desever to cum inside you without a condom?

    Sorry to keep it real, but that’s my two cents.

    24 year-old black man married to a black woman

    P.S. To end on a memorable note, do you think the number of abortions would decline if women were forced to hold their fetuses for an hour after the procedure?

  27. ok so I am reading this because I am pregnant right now,, and I don’t want the baby! I don’t want it because when I was having sex with the guy he came inside me and didn’t give a care about it. I tried to take the morning after pill but it didn’t work.. I am irresponsible for dealing with a looser, I have been irresponsible in the past. I don’t know what to do. I understand how easy it for someone to say don’t have an abortion from the outside looking in. I am really scared about this whole notion of my irresponsibility and my inability to stay on birth control. I have a five year old. I am trying to get back on my feet and even become a teacher. Anyway I will just pray that something changes in my life where i can turn all of this poison into medecine.

  28. It appears that she is more happy and her life has become more stabilized compared to her previous lifestyle. Kudos to her! I am not sure what her intent was in mentioning her being a Jehovah’s witness but nevertheless she is an imperfect human being and we all make mistakes at times some dire ones. I wish her happiness and hopes that she finds fullfillment in a quest of reconnecting with a life of liberating truth.

Leave a Reply

 
