JASMINE GUY BALANCES MOTHERHOOD AND CAREER


Actress Jasmine Guy knows how to balance motherhood with her career.Although the former Different World actress is busy making her directorial debut in a play called “For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide When The Rainbow Is Enuf”,she still finds time for her nine-year-old daughter Imani:
ESSENCE.COM:You have a 9-year-old daughter, Imani. How do you balance motherhood and career?
GUY:
[Imani] travels with me a lot. I just try to be with her as much as possible. She’s very adaptable. I thought I would dump her off with my mom for weeks at a time. But I start missing her and need to see her. We get her books and homework and she works in the corner. She meets people on the set. She’s learning about the world.

ESSENCE.COM: Unfortunately, you’re going through a divorce after ten years of marriage. How are you holding up?
GUY:
I’m as good as I can be. I have a great support system. We both want the best for Imani, so that keeps us on the right track.

ESSENCE.COM: Are you frightened at the prospect of being single and eventually dating again?
GUY: [Laughs] I am not thinking about dating. Some guy said something to me the other day, and I just started stuttering. That has not been on my mind. There are so many other crucial things I’m thinking about right now. I just want to be open to life and what life has to offer me and not worry
ESSENCE.COM: What do you consider your greatest life goal?
GUY:
I really just want my little girl to grow into a happy, wonderful woman. However, I can do that whether it’s by guiding her or staying out of her way when I need to-that’s the most important thing to me right now.
SOURCE

~ by blackcelebritykids on August 4, 2008.

10 Responses to “JASMINE GUY BALANCES MOTHERHOOD AND CAREER”

  1. She’s a cutie in this picture..The other picture I last seen on here,Imani wasn’t looking as cute.

  2. Mommy and daughter are beautiful..

  3. i love to see working moms keep their children in the loop

  4. Nice

  5. beautiful

  6. That lil Imani lucks just like her dad! I really like Jasmine Guy. Wonder what’s going on with the movie/documentary about Afeni Shakur. I wish her all the best of luck!

  7. I have always liked Jasmine Guy, I would like to wish you and your daughter the best of luck in whatever, you attempt to do. May God Bless You always.

  8. IMANI SOO BIG NOW AWWW SHE CUTE THO

  9. Jasmine I’m a longtime fan of yours you seem to be holding up quite strong sister a divorce can be very painful I know been there before so keep your head up

  10. “I thought I would dump her off with my mom for weeks at a time.—Geez, I think she could’ve worded this better! Dump her off? My goodness! 😦

    I still love Jasmine & wish her & Imani & Terrence the best through this ordeal.

Leave a Reply

 
