BERNIE MAC’S LAST MOMENTS WITH HIS WIFE AND DAUGHTER

Bernie Mac’s last moments with his wife and daughter as told by his sister-in-law.
VIA PEOPLE.com:

“He opened his eyes on his own and looked at Rhonda. She called his name, and he opened his eyes and nodded to her. She smiled at him and told him, ‘Don’t leave me … ‘I’m waiting for you to come back.’ He shrugged his shoulders, and she said that’s when she knew he was tired. He signaled to her that his body was tired.”

Rhonda, Mac’s wife since 1977, and their 30-year-old daughter, Je’Niece, 30, were with him when he died. “[The doctors] were working on him,” says Grossett. “They tried to resuscitate him two times. One time he came back for about an hour. Then he went into cardiac arrest the second time.”

Prior to that, the couple had last communicated on July 31. “He told his wife [non-verbally] that he could breathe on his own, and he wanted the ventilator out. He motioned that he wanted it out,” says Grossett.

“What she will treasure the most is the fact that she was his wife for 30 years – and not only was she his wife, but she was his best friend. She’s going to miss him dearly.”

The sister-in-law says Mac’s inflammatory lung disease contributed to his death. “He had sarcoidosis, but it was in remission,” she says. “But because he had it, his immune system was compromised. He had an infection … He was on a new medication that suppresses the immune system, and that’s where the pneumonia came from.”

She reveals that Mac – having trouble breathing and running a fever – was actually hospitalized on July 24, eight days before the date given for his admittance. The actor was diagnosed with pneumonia and immediately placed on a ventilator.

“He was critically ill when he was in the hospital,” says Gossett. “He was in intensive care the whole time.”

Mac’s funeral is scheduled for Friday, Aug. 15, at an undisclosed location. The family requests that donations be made to the Bernie Mac Foundation for Sarcoidosis, 40 E. Ninth St., Suite 601, Chicago IL 60605.
SEE PICTURES OF BERNIE’S WIFE,DAUGHTER,AND GRANDCHILD(click here)

~ by blackcelebritykids on August 10, 2008.

36 Responses to “BERNIE MAC’S LAST MOMENTS WITH HIS WIFE AND DAUGHTER”

  1. I was very sad to hear of Bernie’s passing. It was as if I lost one of my family members. His Wife and daughter and entire family are in our prayers. God bless the McCullough family and give them strength at this time.

  2. Now Issac Hayes has died. I know they said things like this happens in 3’s I hope it is not true.

  3. THAT IS SOO SAD R.I.P 😦

  4. This is seriously so heartbreaking. Words cannot explain how sad I feel for his family. What a loss, I can still barely grasp this entire thing. This sucks.

  5. When they are ready to go, who are we to argue?

    RIP My man! Make God crack a smile!

  6. That’s very sad.. but that’s life, his wife and daughter have to accept it because everything happens for a reason.. I know it was God’s will.. May God’s spirit be with his family always.

  7. ..who is this site owner?..I love this site i just recently stumbled across it today!..RIP..BERNIE..your right then ISSAC..and they do say things like these happen is 3’s..I hope the one about lil wayne daughter isn’t true! 😦

  8. Sad to hear! RIP!

  9. R.I.P. Mr. Mac! My heart goes out to the family & friends!

  10. R.I. P. MAC! FAMILY AND FRIENDS HOLD ON TO GOD’S UNCHANGING HANDS. THE ACTOR DON CHEADLE STATED “THAT HEAVEN JUST GOT FUNNIER’ I AGREE WITH THAT. LOSING SUCH A GREAT ACTOR/COMEDIAN WAS LIKE LOSING A MEMBER OF MY FAMILY. TO THE WIFE,DAUGHTER,AND JASMINE GOD WILL BRING YOU THRU AND THE MEMORIES WILL BE IN YOU HEARTS FOR EVER WE WILL CONTINUE TO PRAY FOR YOU

  11. Blessings to him and his family, friends and fans. This is so sad but like it’s been said, “Heaven just got funnier”. RIP Bernie.

  12. I’m so sorry, and shocked to hear this. His humor will be greatly missed.

  13. im sad to hear about this… one of the great men in hollywood especially for holding his family that long in a business like that..

  14. i was so saddened and shock by his death…i admired him as a comedian and an actor.he was soo funny and i enjoyed watching reruns of his show nernie mac.he will be missed!!!!

    my condolences to his family

  15. Bernie mac dead!!!!darn its not fair how come people like Ahmedinajad are living and nice people die?RATS!!

  16. […] BERNIE MAC’S LAST MOMENTS WITH HIS WIFE AND DAUGHTER « BLACKCELEBRITYKIDS- Black Celebrity Kids,b…. « Opening Ceremony Beijing Olympics – Video « aGEEKspot […]

  17. I CAN NOT BELIEVE THIS I ACTUALLY CRIED. IT’S STRANGE TO ME BECUAUSE THEY SAID HE PASSED EARLIER IN THE WEEK AND IT WAS A LIE AND THEN TO TURN AROUND A FEW DAY’S LATER AND IT COMES TRUE. MAN GOD WORKS IN MYSTERIOUS WAY’S. RIP BERNNIE YOU WILL BE MISSED.

  18. R.I.P Bernie Mac…damn but God makes no mistakes..Bernie u will be missed dearly..

  19. Bernie is with his mother and his Big Mama. We will miss him because he was sooo talented and told it like it is. The man was FUNNY. One of the funniest I know. His wife and daughter are in my prayers. Only God will ease your pain. I loss my mother in January, 2008. I have come to the resolution that I will live with a broken heart until I see her again. To the Mac family and fans: Trust in God. My prayer to God: If his purpose was to bring joy and happiness to the world–he has completed his mession. Please bless his soul and allow him entrance to Heaven. Bernie Mac, I hope your mom and grandma helped your transition. Rest in Peace and you will be missed. Thanks for the joy. Love ya.

  20. “She smiled at him and told him, ‘Don’t leave me … ‘I’m waiting for you to come back.’ He shrugged his shoulders, and she said that’s when she knew he was tired. He signaled to her that his body was tired.”

    That is the sweetest yet saddest thing I’ve ever read.

    R.I.P Bernie Mac and thanks for making me laugh.

    Vee,
    Nairobi, Kenya.

  21. you will be misses bernie mac but i will always think of one of your jokes and laugh now im going to get some milk and cookies.

  22. We’re losing a few of our greatest artists in black culture. its been fun watching your movies and shows. Your family is in my prayers

  23. […] BERNIE MAC’S LAST MOMENTS WITH HIS WIFE AND DAUGHTER BERNIE MAC’S LAST MOMENTS WITH HIS WIFE AND DAUGHTER […]

  24. BERNIE U was the best at wat you did and no one could have done it better U will be Truely Missed, R.I.P BERNIE MAC UGBNF

  25. R.I.P Mac, we all gone miss you man.

  26. He will be graetky missed by all. Watching him all these years seemed like he was in my family, even though he wasn’t he is in my heart. My prayers go out to his family for their loss. He will be greatly missed by many. He will live on through all his accomplishments.

  27. God is good and he knows what best for us, May Bernie rest in peace. I pray that his family be strong and have peace at this time. We will miss Bernie, but he will always be in our hearts, the best movie I like was when his daughter brought the white boy home, I think any Dad will have done that no matter what color the boy was. My family and I will truly miss him, may God bless and keep you in his care.

    Love

    Benefrida

  28. BEST WISHES TO THE FAMILY,AND STAY STRONG HE WILL SURLY BE MISSED FROM ALL HIS FANS.GOD HAS CALLED HIM HOME REST IN PEACE MY BROTHER ….

  29. Alles Gute Bernie !!

  30. When I heard it my heart broke. He will be sadly missed, and now he is up in heaven making everyone laugh out loud.

  31. I JUST CANNOT BELIEVE HOW MANY BLACK MEN THERE ARE IN HOLLYWOOD WTH NON BLACK WOMEN. I MEAN DOES ANYONE ELSE NOTICE THIS? IT’S A SICKNESS WHEN WE BEGAN TO GET SO CAUGHT UP IN THE “AMERICAN DREAM”, THAT WE MAKE OURSELVES EXTINCT BY JOINING AND MAKING FAMILIES WITH EVERY RACE BUT OUR OWN. IT IS DISTURBING HOW SO MANY BLACK MEN, ESPECIALLY AND WOMEN MAKE IT TO HOLLYWOOD AND FORGET WHO THEY ARE AND THEY WANT TO BE AND WANT TO BREED CHILDREN THAT DO NOT LOOK LIKE THEM. DO BLACK MEN AND WOMEN HATE THEMSELVES? IT SEEMS TO BE TRUE.

  32. Bernie Mac will be truly missed. He seemed to be of great character. Prayers go out to the family and friends in their loss.

  33. […] BERNIE MAC’S LAST MOMENTS WITH HIS WIFE AND DAUGHTER Bernie Mac’s last moments with his wife and daughter as told by his sister-in-law. VIA PEOPLE […]

  34. R.I.P bernie mac so sad to hear this I still cant get over it , but GOD does not make any mistakes you will be truly misses~

  35. R.i.P BERNiE MAC iM qOiN 2 MiSS U SOO MUCC lOVE YA..BUT UR N A BETTA PLACE TELL GOD 2 SAVE ME A PLACE UP DERE C U WEN i GET UP DERE

  36. he had me in stiches in guess who’s coming to dinner? what a great talent he was!

Leave a Reply

 
