THE BIG KIDS’ FILE:BILL COSBY’S DAUGHTER OPENS NEW STORE


Evin Harrah,31, who recently opened up a boutique in NY, is speaking on the privileges she received as the daughter of actor,comedian,writer and philanthropist Bill Cosby:

“My own people used to say to me, ‘You speak like a white woman,'” said the youngest daughter of Bill and at her chic new boutique, PB & Caviar, in Tribeca.

“What does that even mean, anyway? Everyone has their way of speaking and living their life. No one should be judging and assuming that because I’m black, I have to speak in that hip-hop way. That’s something I prefer not to do.”

“I always went to private schools – Bank Street elementary, so I was surrounded by people like me. Not so much African-American, but privileged. I don’t really have a connection to other people who didn’t have my lifestyle. But my dad is very into helping people from his own community in Philadelphia.”

SOURCE
PICTURE SOURCE

~ by blackcelebritykids on August 11, 2008.

31 Responses to “THE BIG KIDS’ FILE:BILL COSBY’S DAUGHTER OPENS NEW STORE”

  1. Hmm, this sounds a bit arrogant to me. She may have had a privileged upbringing but she IS still part of the black community. Her father’s roots are her roots and so are all of our fore-fathers.

  2. I can understand what she means when people say you talk “white” but I have friends that are not in the same social class as I am and I am friends with them because they are cool people, however, if she was never around people who don’t have their lifestyle then that is her business and life goes on!

  3. Maybe it’s me, but she sounds…stuck up a lil bit. I understand where she’s coming from about the “talking white” thing…but the comment she made about not having a “connection to people whom did not share the same lifestyle” as her is…well…just mean. It sounds like she would prefer it that way. As much as her father tries to help and assist his community and his people, how could she (if she doesn’t) not have absord some of that passion and drive to at least participate in the fight. I’m not saying for her to dedicate her life to it, but to have NO connection…? That says a lot…

  4. Cosby knows he’s wrong for rearing her into believing she doesn’t have a connection to people who look similarly and share the same heritage as her. He preached all that great stuff about how black men have dropped the ball when it came to their families; yet, it sounds like he did in some respects as well.

    Also, she needs to lose some weight. That’s not a good look!

  5. I bet she can’t relate to skinny people either then, right? Also, I bet she will be able to “relate” to the poor black hip-hop speaking folk if they shopped in her boutique!

  6. Not Buying it. I don’t think it is his fault she didn’t learn the lessons he tried to instill. She said herself she saw her dad reaching out to the community where he grew up. He set a good example. That doesn’t mean the kids always follow there parents lead. She reminds me of Joseph C. Phillips. She seems very out of touch. I think the problem is when you grow up poor you want you kids to have all the things you didn’t. Doing that you lose sight of the fact that being poor is what made you want better. I was doing the same thing with my kids. Giving them everything. Now I do my best in making sure to instill in them that just because you have something today, doesn’t mean you will have it tomorrow.

    As far as the weight goes. That Muffin top is not cute.

  7. Most of the down to earth people that are rich, are that way because they know what it is like to not have. Or because their parent’s were able to keep them grounded.

    It’s why I like what Obama is doing with his kids. Why I like his position more than any other presidential hopeful. He knows what it means to not have and can empathize.

  8. […] THE BIG KIDS’ FILE:BILL COSBY’S DAUGHTER OPENS NEW STORE « BLACKCELEBRITYKIDS- Black Celebrity …. « Open game programming […]

  9. this is the time she jus shouldntve said nothing because she will forever be linked to this article.

  10. Perhaps this is a bit mean, but she looks old for 31.

  11. I thought her name was “Erin”. She was very cute as a child… all of his kids were. As someone else said, she really shouldn’t make public statements. They don’t come out too well!

  12. my…has Bill Cosby aged or what?

  13. Her statements seem so elitist. Bill should have raised his kids to be connected to their culture, privileged or not. It’s nice to be able to relate to different kinds of people in this day and age. I’m not impressed.

  14. I have talked to my husband about the statements that Bill’s daughter made. He said you have to try and see it from her point of view. Being real some of our black people can and do sound very ignorant. Case in point check out the replies to Lil Wayne’s pics some of the people left. Truth be told I hate seeing our people talk like this as well. They are living down to the image the media has tried to portray of us. I don’t know if any of you ever heard Dick Gregory speak, the man is very smart. He says they(the media) trys to portray us as being the worse of the worse because it keeps them from dealing with the guilt they have from all the dirt they have done. They show black on black crime, they show how our black men stay in jail, anything to make us look bad. When they have way more ways in jail than us and white on white crime is just as prevalent as black on black or any other race for that matter.You kill where you are.

    It’s funny really the Jewish people own and operate most of the broadcasting companies. You would think because of what Hitler did to their people they would be more empathetic to other race but they are the ones portraying us to look so negatively. The question is why? For whatever reason people try to get us to look bad time and time again, so you feel bad for being what God made you and you lose hope and settle for crumbs.

  15. I wonder how well she would have fit into the white elitist establishment if her last name wasn’t “Cosby?”

  16. She has his nose.

  17. Maryamb, I agree with your husband in regards to how a lot of black people are too lazy to learn proper english. I absolutely HATE hearing ebonics. With that said, the media can only portray what they see. Black on black crime is indeed MUCH higher if you look at percentages. We have to stop blaming others and start accepting responsibility for our actions and behavior. I don ‘t care how many white men belong in jail, it doesn’t change the fact that the black men in jail did something to land themselves where they are.

  18. DW,
    Do you know how easy it is to “land” in jail?! I didn’t realize how easy it was until I became a corrections officer. Not everyone in jail is there for habitual offenses.

  19. Amy,
    I am not sure if the offenses were habitual or not, but most of the time, a crime has been committed. We had to move fronm a very beautiful suburb b/c the thugs started moving in on us. our peaceful existence ceased to exist when demographics changed. I never once saw a white man holding a gun to anyone of these thugs head and forced them to rob and burglarize us. Our property value tumbled and we basically had to follow the whites in their “WHITE FLIGHT” to protect my family and of coure we lost a lot of equity by giving the house away. Whose fault is this? OURS!!!!!!!!!

  20. I AGREE TO A CERTAIN DEGREE. I FIGHT HARD EVERYDAY TO PROVE THAT IM NOT A “TYPICAL AFRICAN -AMERICAN”,BASICALLY HOW THE MEDIA POTRAYS US . NOT ALL OF US ARE GANG-REALTED , BABY MAMA ,ETC. I THINK IS SHOULD BE BALANCED OUT . YOU TALK HOW U WANT, WHEN YOUR IN A COMFORTABLE ZONE, BUT CORPRATE WISE ; WE NEED TO ACT LIKE LADIES AND GENTLEMEN WITH SOME SINCE . NOW WHEN IT COMES TO HER, IT DIDNT MATTER IF SHE WAS RASIED IN BETTER CIRCUMSTANCES. SHE HAD A CHOICE ,WHEN SHE GOT OLD ENOUGH TO MAKE THE CHOICE, IF SHE WANTED TO HANG OUT WITH URBAN OR MIDDLE CLASS IF YOU WILL. AND SHE DIDNT SO IT MAKES HER LOOK STUCK AND LIKE A UNCLE TOM. LIKE BLACK ISNT GOOD ENOUGH . IT ALL HAS TO BE BALANCED OUT . WHAT SHE SAID WAS OFFENSIVE IN THE BLACK COMMUNITY

  21. She sounds like a stuck up snob!!!!

  22. For some reason, her comment didn’t rub me the wrong way – and I get rubbed the wrong way EASILY. I think she was just telling it how it is. If you’re born and raised upper-class, you’re accustomed to certain things and associating with certain people and mainly relate to those things and those people. It sounds to me that she’s struggling with her blackness and wanting to assert herself as her own person.

    And also when she said “people like me” – I don’t necessarily think she met white people. I think she meant privileged people in general.

    So while what she said may have been kinda “WTF?” – I sorta can understand where she is coming from. I don’t really agree, though, I personally believe in having a diverse group of friends but yeah. And if you’re African American, or a minority in general, it’s SO important to know where you came from and not just forget your fellow people of color and their ongoing struggle just because *you* made it – or your daddy made it.

    Reading her comments over, I truly wonder what the context of her comment was.

  23. Wait…dissecting her comment more, it’s kinda rubbing me the wrong way now. I hope she doesn’t equate herself with being white and that she doesn’t equate blackness with being wrong. Because now that’s what it’s sounding like.

  24. I am confussed because that means she can not relate to her own family because her mother and father didn’t come from privilege. And alot of her relatives are not. But I guess she can relate to people taking drugs cause at one point her oldest sister was very addicted. LOL

  25. Erin sounds bougie & elitist.
    Ervin take a clue & help the ppl you’re father grew up around. Unless you have your Dad’s $ to live off of 4 teh rest of your life, u may not live around wealthy ppl 4 the rest of your life… u may end up living on the streets of Phili!

  26. Privileged people sell clothes? I guess all that education really made a difference….not! Camille and Bill should have taught their daughter to have some class and grace. She sounds snotty and snooty.

  27. i read this site everyday and i dont ever comment but her comments were wrong on so many levels. she says that she grew up priviledged but not around african americans, i resent her hinting that black and priviledged are opposites. she speaks of her father’s contributions to the “neighborhood”, but she doesnt speak of hers. are they nonexistent?

    Also about her speaking like a white woman? Is she serrious? Does she equate speaking black with hiphop? If you are a black woman, how can u speak any way but black. My impression is that she is thinking she speaks like a white woman because we as black people are buffoons. I am disappointed in her, and deeply disappointed in her father for raising such a snooty, clueless daughter. I will never look at Cosby show the same.

  28. It’s really, really said that this girl does not have a clue. What she says should not be a reflection on Bill and his wife; I think they tried to raise her in the right way. She’s just snooty all by herself. Bill is still a role model and I respect him. His daughter is really clueless. She looks like the rest of us doesn’t she? Has she looked in the mirror? She’s black and she can’t change that!!!!

  29. I grew up with Evin, she is not an elitest she is actually a very giving, caring and down to earth person. I think what she said is being misunderstood.

  30. K I think it maybe misunderstood as well and said as much. Would you care to explain what her comments meant?

  31. Well I was excited about to spend my heart earned money at this “sister’s: establishment but now I just can’t. In life we have many connections she chooses to nly acknowledge one; the one of “priviledge”. So sad her dad’s money bought her a space in a great school but she still doesnt sound educated or cosmopolitan either. In many ways she’s at a disadvantage. It’s true you dont have to speak a certain way when you are black acknowledging your your roots especially as an African American is mandatory. I would love to ask her what is speaking “hip hop”. People all over the world listen and embrace the culture of Hip Hop. She seems to be running from herself. All the money in the world wont change the fact that you are black. She needs to get in touch with herself. Its so funny Bill Cosby pushes education and self pride and his daughter displays neither. I AM HIP HOP

Leave a Reply

 
