READERS REACT:THE KODJOES AND SPINA BIFIDA

Readers are reacting to actors Boris and Nicole Kodjoe’s personal struggle with a developmental birth defect known as Spina Bifida. In this POST,the Kodjoes expressed to us in a letter their daughter Sophie’s struggle with this birth defect. Watch video below to get a snippet of the post:

 BCK reader Carolyn responded with her own testimony:

My daughter passed due to Spina Bifida. It was detected when I was 4 months pregnant. The doctor prediction was accurate and she died soon after I gave birth. She was born with multiple abnoralities and the back of her skull was missing. All of her brain was hanging out. She had a area in her back in whic flesh never covered around her spine. This was December of 1996. Don’t know what caused it but I was only told it could have been the fact I didn’t have enough folic acid in me. I was a mes this but have recovered mentally since. That would have been my first child. I now have a 5 year old that God has blessed me with. Hope evrything goes well and GOD proves the doctors wrong

BCK Says: Here’s a chance for you to put out your own testimonies,questions or to just educate the world on Spina Bifida..or perhaps if you have a few kind words for Carolyn…Leave a comment!

~ by blackcelebritykids on August 24, 2008.

3 Responses to “READERS REACT:THE KODJOES AND SPINA BIFIDA”

  1. I can’t believe that one my favorite actors has this medical issue in his family. I am a 32 woman in Miami, FL living with Spina Bifida. I thought I was the only African American person with it, although my family is of West Indian descent. I did not know anything about Spina Bifida, I had to read about it because the doctors didn’t explain anything to me, all I knew is that I was born with it. But I did read that the doctors are still researching it and that it has something to do with lack of folic acid. But it has really affected my life and it still is today as an adult. If I did not have Spina Bifida, I would have pursued a modeling career. I have always wanted to do that and I still do. Just some words of encouragement to Boris Kodjoe and his family, I struggle because of the Spina Bifida, yes, but I try to make the best of my life. I do walk, even though the doctors said I wouldn’t , but I don’t walk normal like everyone else but I do walk, I work and have been since the age of 14, I finished college with a Bachelors Degree. I drive normally like everyone else. I don’t make too many friends because some people accept the disability and some people don’t. The same thing with my love life. I am not married and I don’t have children because I don’t know if I would be able to carry a child because of the Spina Bifida and it’s hard for me to keep a boyfriend because most men, especially an african-american man, do not want to have anything to do with a woman with any type of flaws, especially a disability. So you could imagine how hard it is for me to get a boyfriend. I get alot of discrimination in life. But I try to keep my mind off of the bad things that happen to me because of this disability. I just want to let Boris and his family to know that there is hope and if they ever need anyone for support , I am available because I sure need someone to talk to also.

  2. I just want to wish everyone the best in dealing with this condition. I never really knew what it was until Boris put his daughter’s situation out there. I hope they find a cure.

  3. I’m a 22 year old young woman living with Spina Bifida and Scoliosis. I’ve had plenty of struggles in my life concerning my “platform” (disability), but through it all I’m triumphant! I live my life very normally. I love to sing, write, shop, travel and many other things too. I do not feel like my disability is my biggest struggle…Its education! I was in the regular standard classes for the most part of my life, but once I got to high school, it changed. I went back to the special education classes(kinda wish i didnt), but everything happens for a reason…that leads me to the situation I ‘m in now. I graduated with a certificate of completion, so therefore in order for me to pursue my dream of going to college, I have to get a GED. Being in those type of classes are not good for you if you want to be challenged. They will actually make you question your intelligence at times and make you feel less than the person you are. Thank God I DID NOT fall into their trap! With that being said, If you have Spina Bifida or any other type disability..don’t give up on your dreams, be encouraged, know that God loves you unconditionally and there’s a purpose and a plan for your life. God does’nt make mistakes! We are fearfully and wonderfully made:) Take care and be blessed. ~Yvonne~

Leave a Reply

 
