MARY LOUISE PARKER AND KIDS NOT HAPPY IN THE CITY


Actress Mary-Louise Parker,who plays Nancy Botwin on television series Weeds,and her two children William Atticus Parker-Crudup,4, daughter Caroline “Ash” Aberash Parker,1 1/2, and the kids’ nanny were photographed this past weekend. It would appear that the entire clan did not want their picture to be taken as little Aberash looks a bit frightened.

~ by blackcelebritykids on August 25, 2008.

29 Responses to “MARY LOUISE PARKER AND KIDS NOT HAPPY IN THE CITY”

  1. Okay, I’m just speaking from a curious mind BUT why do Caucasians feel the need to adopt African, African-American and Asian children?

    I firmly believe that if somebody can provide a stable and loving home, then GO FOR IT. But I still can’t help but think, why children of color? Little white kids need love too!! lol
    But you don’t see Black or African families trying to scoop up a little white girl/boy.

    I’m just saying.

  2. Oh my God, Ash got HUGE!!!!!!! She looks just like Z in the second picture. I love the show Weeds, and little William looks scared.

    Naija white kids get adopted at higher rates than children of black, hispanic, or asian descent. African adoption has boomed and I love it! Black families don’t usually adopted white children because they feel white and black people may give them the “why did they get that white child with all those poor black children in orphanages/foster care”. All kids need love, no matter what color.

  3. Naja Ga,
    There five times more black kids in the system than whites. White families have to waite years for a white baby to beome avaialbe for adoption. There are so many Black kis that grow up in foster care because no one wants them. It’s a blessing when children can find home with parents who love them. No matter who the parents are.

    It disturbs me that more Black don’t adopt. We are so stuck on birthing that their are so many Black children whose fathers never wanted them, and mothers couldn’t afford them and families were unable take them that they are stuck. If we took care of our own you woundn’t have to aske that question.

  4. Why don;t black adopt? THink about that instead of worrying what color adopts blk kids. Blk kids are NOT EXCLUSIVE to blacks. SLAVEY ENDED 200 years ago blks need to get off the plantation. Evrything is not race motivated. This comes from a blk women who is looking to adopt an Asian and African girl.

  5. That’s good for you Bella.

  6. I knew I would be scolded for asking the question but it was worth it because Id rather be informed than remain ignorant. So, thanks Jennifer. I didnt know that the number of black children outweighed the whites and Bella, good luck on the adoption…like I said if you can provide a loving home then GO FOR IT!!

  7. Wow! I’be loved Mary Louise Parker since Fried Green Tomatoes. And I am addicted to Weeds and have spread the addition to my friends. I had no idea she had adopted a child!

    In response to Naija, I’m definitely not scolding for you asking the question. If people are doing it for show, I’d be annoyed at them adopting ANY kid (unless the kid is in a loving stable happy family – then that is all that matters). But white children tend to be adopted more often and it is often hard to place african american/black kids with adoptive families. So, the fact that these celebs are open to kids, regardless of their color, makes me incredibly happen. I don’t care what country someone adopts from or what color their kid is. I want every kid without a home to get adopted! I’ve been wanting to adopt since I was kid. I can’t wait to adopt some day.

  8. for those really interested in adopting: some americans over generalize domestic adoptions. It does NOT have to take years! There are many children “waiting”. If you are seriously considering adoption, you will find that the laws vary from state to state and you can explore many options. Also, costs are NOT always sky high for private and some agencies will work with the state or offer grants to place children…from the good ol’ USA!!

  9. Okay I have no problem with white people adopting black kids, I think it’s great that the kids are getting place in good homes. My beef is this: if these rich white celebrities are going to adopt white kids, why can’t they hire someone to properly do their hair? What are they gonna do when the kids start school? Just let them role out of bed and go. Hair is an important part of their identity as well, and how is Zahara gonna feel when she realizes that out of all Brad and Angelina’s other kids, she’s the only one who’s hair is sticking on top of her head like she’s an orphan!

  10. My bad, I meant if their going to adopt black kids, not white!

  11. There really isn’t anything wrong with Zahara’s hair. It’s pretty much short. There isn’t much to do with it.Now if she had a lot of kinky hair going every which way then I can see hiring someone…

  12. Calling a black child “Ash” is probably not a good idea.

  13. Hey whatever it takes to get them into good healthy homes who cares the color!!!

  14. I too have beef with the child’s hair. I realize it’s short but that’s not an excuse. Please comb these little girls hair. Even combing it out like an afro and putting a cute little bow in it, a cute headband would suffice. Just groom these young babies

  15. I am not yet in a place where I can adopt (still in college), but when I am able to do so I plan to adopt at least 2 children. The color is not important to me as long as I am able to provide a child/children with a loving stable enviornment. I don’t think that the majority of adoptive parents care about the color of the child that they are adopting. Most just want an adoption that takes the shortest amount of time as possible as well as the cheapest.

    I too have a problem with how some of these celebrities do (or don’t do) their childrens hair but that’s not the most important thing. As long as they are loved they can have the wildest hair in the world lol. And if anyone is referring to Ash’s hair, if you look at the first thumbnail she had a pretty headband on her head that fell down (as you can see in the main pic).

    Angleina has said that she uses Carol’s daughters products on Z’s hair and then styles it but Z always takes it out.

  16. The girl’s name is Caroline Aberash, that’s why the call her Ash. It was also the name she was born with. Mary-Louise has a black nanny, she doesn’t need to hire a hair stylist and so does Angelina. I think Ash’s hair is fine, and she had a bow in it but Ash probably took it out. Zahara does the same thing, they do her hair and she messes it up.

  17. Boy Black people and the hair issues gets on my da*mn nerve. I see plenty of Black girls who have Black mothers and their hair looks a mess while the mother’s is freshly done. A lot of little girls I knew whose hair was always done to the hilt when they were little had begun to lose some of their hair (esp. the edges) by the time they were teens. Black women mess with their hair way too much, then agonize when they get to be middle aged and are BALD. Leave these little girls (Ash and Z)alone.

  18. Naija gal; they adopt these kids because none of us is selfless enough to do it. How many black kids have you considered adopting. I just hate the fact that we cannot solve our problems. We have so many rich Africans e.g in naija and African Americans but I wonder how many of them are thinking of adopting black kids. Naija girl, how many do you plan on adopting….I know you can afford it. If you all have nothing else to do than blame people for giving these kids a home…then just say awwwww… and shut up. and Puuulease. If you hate that they leave the cute afros, take braiding lessons and offer to do it for them for free. They appreciate their own hair enough to see that the kids are beautiful with their curly afros and they love them for it. Gosh!

  19. I think these little girls will have higher self-esteem than a lot of girls with black mothers. These women are teaching these girls to appreciate their natural beauty. I would rather see their hair free and natural then to see it permed with weave. No one says anything when other people wear their hair natural but we should be ashamed and”do” something about our natural hair. this is ridiculous and stupid! Leave them alone! THEY ARE BEAUTIFUL, AS IS!

  20. @ No Whining…

    LOL…It’s flattering that you think I’m rich!! Thanks!

    Anyway, just to get you back on track (because I see that you’ve wondered off)…you stated, “If you all have nothing else to do than blame people for giving these kids a home…then just say awwwww”…just to let you know, I said, “If you can provide a loving home then GO FOR IT!”…and it seems that the rest of the bloggers seem to share the same thoughts (i.e. pkp, SUZ, Alaia, Jim, Blue…just to name a few)

    No one is saying that it was wrong for her to adopt children of color. So, live up to your namesake and…quit WHINING!!

  21. “I think these little girls will have higher self-esteem than a lot of girls with black mothers. These women are teaching these girls to appreciate their natural beauty.” – DW

    I agree, I’d rather see more Afros than mothers running their girls to the salon to get their hair straightened. Angelina and Mary-Louise probably teach their girls that they’re beautiful just how they are and to appreciate their culture. If you get your hair permed if should be a personal decision not forced on you.

  22. Bless your sweet heart Jessica.

  23. There is no gaurantee that the self-esteem of these girls will be higher. When you conider where some of these children live, it is rare that they will see a peer who looks like them. They will most likely see white skin and long straight hair. No matter how many times their moms tell them how special and beautiful they are, it doesn’t mean that they will believe it. Now I’m not saying that they shouldn’t adopt a black child, but I do think that they need to make an extra effort to have their children with at least one person who looks like them. Someone who they can talk to that has been there and will relate.

    Some children NEED to have their hair straightened (not necesarrily permed) because for some it is easier to manage. My sister is bi-racial (white and black) and has hair that is very hard to manage. It tangles no matter what products are used (the last couple of products that we used were Carol’s Daughter, Dr. Miracle’s, and Diva). It even tangles and knots up when her hair is braided. We tried flat ironing it and since then her hair has not tangled once.

  24. Said this,
    Sarah-Jessica seems to be aware of the need for cultural exposure since she has a black nanny. Most adoptive parents these days are fully aware of the cultural needs of our children. BTW, nobody “needs” to have their hair straightened. You just NEED to take the time to learn to care for your hair texture properly. Properly doesn’t always mean the easiest route either.

  25. You’re right there not guaranteed to have higher self-esteem but I believe they will. I just think Zahara and Ash will grow up in an environment where their dark skin and natural hair will be looked at as beautiful. Not in an environment where dark skin is looked down on and natural hair is a billow pad. And I’m not saying that all people in the black community think like that.

  26. Why do some people always assume that when you say to “do” a little black girl’s hair you’re referring to a perm? I myself wouldn’t put a perm in a child’s head. You can still COMB or STYLE the child’s hair and still wear it natuaral. You cannot deny that hair is an important part of a black girl’s identity and I do believe that perms and weaves give the wrong message to a child. If white people are going to adopt black children, they should either look into learning how to style the child’s hair or invest in having their hair professionally done… Just my opinion.

  27. Lord have Mercy, do you know how superficial the people talking about the childs hair sound. LOL. Not every child or parent feels the need to put braids or twists in their child’s hair just to prove that they are “black” enough. Her hair is clean healthy and cute, and if a bow did not stay in it, big shock ! Most bows etc, never last a full day in a toddlers hair.

    I am the mother of two beautiful biracial children, and your attitude is the same attitude that I have to deal with when A. my daughters hair is braided or twisted, it is unbelievable to some that I, the white mom did it… B. If we just dont feel like doing it in the morning if we are running to walmart and just throw it in the pony, I get the “oooh she doesnt do that childs hair…poor thing with the white mama… ” looks. **eye rolls**

    I’m telling you, as a parent, you just can’t win. Let that woman raise her child and love her, and mind your business if you have nothing nice to say.

  28. M & M’s MOM=I have not personally experienced it myself, but I’ve seen it happen. Smh, it’s messed up.

  29. Pkp,
    U know darn well if these Caucasian men/women went out and had their blessed African-American children’s hair processed and straightened that you’d be up in arms talking about how they’re trying to make them white and appear white. U know, sometimes Caucasian people can’t win, no matter how much good they are doing. Sad, sad, sad.

Leave a Reply

 
