OIL PAINTING OF MICHELLE AND SASHA DISPLAYED IN MUSEUM

michellesashapainting
On Wednesday,an oil painting of First Lady elect Michelle Obama and her daughter Sasha,7, was unveiled at The New Museum on the Lower East Side of NYC.  The work  titled “Michelle and Sasha Obama Listening to Barack Obama at the Democratic National Convention August 2008,” is an oil painting by artist Elizabeth Peyton and shows the First Lady elect  and a resting Sasha. The painting joins a collection of portraits of Kurt Cobain, Matthew Barney, and Marc Jacobs. You have until January 11 to catch it at the New Museum before the painting is taken to Walker Art Center (Minneapolis), the Whitechapel Art Gallery (London), and the Bonnefantenmuseum (Maastricht, The Netherlands).

paintingcollage

(Click on image to enlarge)

Sources:1,2

~ by blackcelebritykids on November 6, 2008.

14 Responses to “OIL PAINTING OF MICHELLE AND SASHA DISPLAYED IN MUSEUM”

  1. Beautiful!

  2. I CONCUR!!

  3. First LAdy Obama has this essence about her that is truly amazing!

  4. Beautiful! I love it!

  5. I wish I could take this and hang it in my living room.

  6. I cosign with everyone up top. This is going to be the most beautiful family to ever grace the White House (of course I’m biased). 🙂

  7. Teri, I agree. They are going to match (or even surpass) the style and grace of the Kennedy family; but, they are definitely the most beautiful of all.

  8. Beautiful is all I have to say.

  9. If it hasn’t been said already, Michelle will be an icon for all women…and I’ve lived to see her poised to take that position. Life is good.

  10. I LOVE Michelle! she’s FAB!

  11. oh yeah and this photo…is eerily reminiscent of the well-known pic of Coretta Scott King and daughter Bernice…

  12. I think that the painting “Michelle & Sasha” is beautiful, but since Mrs. Obama is the mother of two I am waiting to see the missing portrait from this set “Michelle & Malia”! I DO NOT like the comparison of this image to that of Coretta and Bernice mourning the loss of Dr. Martin Luther King. These images are completely different emotionally, one is of celebration of a new beginning for the Obamas and the other is mourning the loss of a loved one. That’s the parallel that I don’t like!

  13. Amazing painting! I am so very proud of all of the Obamas!!! Camelot has returned!

  14. Gorgeous~
    I love the Obama’s

Leave a Reply

 
