JOELY FISHER’S DOMESTIC BLISS WITH DAUGHTER OLIVIA

joelyfisher2

‘Til Death actress Joely Fisher is a new mom. Joely who is already mom to four(Joely has two daughters True,2, and Skylar,7 and two step-sons Cameron,24, and Colin,22) adopted six week-old Olivia Luna from an unwed teenage mother living in Los Angeles. When Fisher first saw Olivia, she felt that they “belonged together.” Fisher adds, “I remember telling my mom I wanted to adopt when i grew up. This is a dream come true.” Unlike many of her celebrity friends, Joely decided to adopt domestically:

The idea of adopting solidified last July when Fisher went to Mozambique with the nonprofit organization Save The Children. Before she left,the thought of adopting from Africa crossed her mind. “But once I was there,” Fisher recalls, “I felt the people i met wanted me to help them sustain their lives in their own country. The trip was my inspiration to adopt but coming home, I didn’t really know how I would go about it.” After deciding on a private domestic adoption, Joely and her husband submitted the necessary paperwork. Joely says that adopting a child of a different race didn’t faze her. “I had no preference,” she says. “When I found out it was a girl, I was happy. She’ll grow up with two loving sisters and spectacular hand-me-downs.”(People,November 24 issue)

joelyfisher3joelyfisher2joelyfisher1

Source:(People magazine,November 24th issue)

~ by blackcelebritykids on November 19, 2008.

21 Responses to “JOELY FISHER’S DOMESTIC BLISS WITH DAUGHTER OLIVIA”

  1. she is sooooooooooooo cute

  2. She is a cutie. Sometimes the media has ways of making positive things seem negative and prejudice. I have an American friend who adopted domesticlly as the blogs or media would put it. But as a future us resident I dont think that will stop me from adopting from overseas.

  3. CONGRATULATIONS JOELY…OLIVIA LOOKS LIKE A LITTLE ANGEL AND YOU CERTAINLY ARE! MAY GOD BLESS YOU AND YOUR FAMILY.

  4. Aaaaw…I hope she takes good care of that little girl. She looks like a little doll.

  5. I think a lot of people adopt overseas because once they leave the country. The adoptive parents don’t have to worry about seeing or hearing from the birth parents again. Or at least it makes it harder for the birth parent to contact them. She is a beautiful baby. I wish nothing but the best for the whole family.

  6. Olivia is going to have 2 big sisters which is nice and 2 big big brothers. Good for them. Cute cute cute!!

  7. shes scrumptious…aww cutie

  8. look at those cute chubby wubby cheeks

  9. SHE IS TOOOOO CUTE

  10. Congrats and good luck!!Cute baby

  11. ‘spectacular hand me downs’ lol. good for her.
    cute and lucky child.

  12. I love hearing adoption stories! Olivia is so precious.

    I plan to adopt one day (I’m 20 now so it will be a while). I just wish that they would bring down the cost. I am sure that more children would have loving homes if they did.

  13. ahhhh @ the chubby cheeks

  14. I read that is cheaper ad easier to adopt overseas. If you go to Europe you will start to see many AA children that were adopted b/c Europeans are coming to the U>S> to adopt

  15. Hmmm Interesting @ KRS… Also I know in America at least, if the child is disabled it’s quite cheaper and they get the kid faster than an able-bodied/healthy child.

  16. Ms Fisher’s daughter is a tutie lutie and she (Fisher) kind of looked like vanessa williams in the photo.

  17. IT COST MONEY TO ADOPT

  18. Check it out for yourself if you are really interested.
    I did! Each state has different laws. I, and others I know, only paid fees for paperwork done by a lawyer (adoption certificate and legal name change) that cost a few hundred, not thousands of dollars. Most states have “able bodied/healthy” children waiting, the wait is usually for the caseworker’s study to be completed. My adopted child was labeled “special needs” because of mixed ethnicity, a large birthmark (really!), etc. It doesn’t cost anything to inquire with any state or search the internet for information! Keep it domestic, people! Kudos to Fisher for doing just that!

  19. Some folks adopt from overseas because the U.S is a rich nation. The top infact. Anyone watch CNN heroes? There was a women name Marie DeSilva she is from malawi – the same country as madonna son -. and the NANNY of talk show host Ricki Lake.She uses her wages to educate and feed over 200 kids. The oppurtunities in the U.S pales in comparrisson to some other countries. I have nothing but good feelings for Americans who adopt American kids like Steven Speilberg,Meg Ryan and Donna Mills to name. But there is noway to deny that there are more oppurtunities in the U.S. Many Americans say that they live in the greatest country but question why celebs and regulars adopt from overseas. I dont understand that.

  20. She uses her wages to educate and feed over 200 kids. In her homeland of malawi.

  21. Remember Old Livia from the Color Purple. She reminds me of her and that saying, that a little baby can be and look like an old soul who has been here before.

Leave a Reply

 
