NIA LONG:THE RESPONSIBLE PARENT

niamassaiBeing a mom to eight-year-old Massai Zhivago Dorsey II has taught actress Nia Long to have a sense a humor. Nia reveals, “I definitely have a great sense of humor and always try to find the funny in the craziness of life. But when you have children you have to have a sense of humor because nothing goes the way you plan. I consider myself spontaneous but I also have a responsible side that makes sure things are handled and business is taken care of.” When not acting, Nia tries to spend as much time with her son. She says, “I have become more selective about spending time away now. If it’s a project that requires me to be away, I really need to love it. It is so hard to be away from him and I try to avoid it. He is at an age where they are introducing reading, writing and arithmetic so right now I generally just don’t leave. Four days is probably the longest and while I’m away we talk on the phone a lot.”

As a responsible parent, Nia takes pride in teaching her son about the environment.

“He’s involved in a program at school called Roots and Shoots where they learn about keeping our world green with recycling and conservation. They have a school trip planned to the recycling center… school is very conscious of the environment.”

Nia Long also wants to be a positive role model to her son and her community as a whole.

“I don’t try to live my life to be recognized as a role model, but as a mom and as one of the premiere African-American women in Hollywood, it is important to set a positive example. if I can help the community or inspire another mom or actress, then I think that’s a great part of this whole opportunity.”

Interview Courtesy of Tasty

~ by blackcelebritykids on December 3, 2008.

3 Responses to “NIA LONG:THE RESPONSIBLE PARENT”

  1. That’s good the school has that.

  2. IM GLAD THAT SHE IS AND I HOPE SHE STAY THAT WAY…

  3. WOOOW HE LOOK JUST LIKE HIS MAMA HE’S CUTE AND SHE SEEMS LIKE A GOOD MOMMY

Leave a Reply

 
