MOMMY QUOTES: I WANT AN AFRICAN CURLY-HAIRED BARBIE FOR ZAHARA

angelinashopping1

I want to teach [my kids] about all religions [and culture], and I’m trying to find a way to do that. And when it comes to the subject of adoption, like when my daughter, who’s African, wants her hair to look straight like mummy’s . . . and I look for a Barbie that’s African, and the African Barbie has straight hair! And you know, why has Disney never made a film with an African-American princess? ~Actress Angelina Jolie on not being able to find any African barbies for daughter Zahara (source)

BCK Says: Do you agree with Angelina? Do you find that there are no African curly-haired barbies out there?

~ by blackcelebritykids on December 4, 2008.

57 Responses to “MOMMY QUOTES: I WANT AN AFRICAN CURLY-HAIRED BARBIE FOR ZAHARA”

  1. Black women have been looking for that doll for their little girls for years. Welcome to the club Angie.

  2. I hear you Angie, but you’ve been making movies for quite a while and I’m sure you’ve noticed Disney before so NOW you feel it’s an issue, lol! SOME people are funny, we live this shyt. But I do agree with Angie : )

  3. Angelina touched on her hair and her daughters hair. She needs to get an african american hairstylist for her daughter. Most often I find when white people adopt black children the care for the hair is one of the things that is not there. Zahara’s hair can be straightened just like”mummy” with a hot comb. And yes I have been lokking for an african american barbie for YEARS! Disney does have bedroom furniture with a black princess on it but….I don’t know her name. We just call her…beautiful

  4. First of all…..with all the money Angelina has, she should be able to special order a babrbie in any way she wants, but then again, by being vocal about it, she can encourage these big companies to start making them, this is why she should be vocal about it, since us little people can’t have that kind of influence, and thats a shame…..so speak out Angelina…….

  5. I think Angie is going to let Z’s hair grow into a curly fro. And in my opinion its nothing wrong with that. Maybe because I didn’t get a relaxer until I was 13. As to way Angie never noticed there were no black princesses in Disney movies. That one is easy. Because people don’t noticed stuff until it effects them personally. I’m not a big Angie fan but I’m happy she and Brad are trying to show Zahara her hair and skin color is beautiful. Because growing up in a family when your mother and sisters look different than you… has got to do a number on your self image. It looks like the Jo-Pitt’s are addressing these issues before they start.

  6. WHAT A PROGRESSIVE MOMMY! I FEEL YOUR PAIN. MY LITTLE SON WHO IS POPULAR MODEL IN OUR CITY IS BI-RACIAL AND HAS CURLY HAIR. HE CONSTANTLY LAMENTS ABOUT WANTING STRAIGHT HAIR LIKE DADDY EVENTHOUGH I AM CONSTANTLY SHOWING HIM PICTURES OF BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE IN ESSENCE MAGAZINE. THEY GET THIS FROM EVEN WATCHING CARTOONS LIKE BEN 10! IT IS SO PREVASIVE.

  7. Bravo, Angie! I have been saying just what she stated FOR YEARS NOW!I’ve boycotted the Disney princess franchise as long as I’ve been a mom because it is not representative of my daughters’ beauty. The one exception I’ve made is with (Princesses) Jasmine or Mulan because those at least affirm non-Euro beauty standards. In regards to Barbie, I remember buying one curly-haired and cute doll about five years ago; haven’t seen one in stores again. Until we create and liscense our own beautiful dolls to showcase our unique and diverse beauty, Disney and Mattel will continue business as usual.

  8. I agree with you Dee2. I’d rather see Z’s hair as is than plated in a thousands plats with f’ing barretts on every section.

  9. There will be more “African American” friendly products
    on the way (Obama). Disney’s The Princess and The Frog will feature a Black Princess.

  10. Lol@ Sara! I totally agree.

  11. My first reaction to this was, “this woman doesn’t understand the plight of women of color hardly being able to find dolls for their daughters that look like them.” And I’ve sometimes wanted to jump on the bandwagon with those that critize Angie for not doing “something” to her daughters hair. But it seems that even though Angie isn’t African-American, she is more accepting of her daughter and trying to instill in her more pride in the natural way that she looks than a lot of African-American women are/do of their daughters.

    And I too agree that if we want the African princess dolls with curly hair instead of that other mess, maybe we need to create them.

  12. Charity, Ewwww why would you hot comb a 3 year-old’s hair.

  13. There isn’t a lot of curly-haired black dolls. You have to go to some custom doll site or look in 20 different toy stores, it’s ridiculous. Like someone else said I’m sure we will find more black dolls with Obama as prez (hopefully).

  14. Who knows if and when we will see, not only a African American Barbie with curly hair, but one with black features! All the black barbies look like they just took the white ones and made them a little darker.

    But at least she won’t have to wait long to finally see a African American princess in a Disney movie… “The Princess and the Frog” is coming out in 2009!

  15. I personally think that caucasian parents with black kids teach them to appreciate their beauty moreso than black parents. Look how many people on this site says she should “DO SOMETHING” with kids hair that is afro textured. It’s sad. REALLY SAD!! Let them be. God doesn’t make mistakes and our hair is just the way he intended it to be. Toy manufactures wouldn’t continue to make black dolls that truly don’t reflect us if we didn’t buy them. They are all about money and they make what sells. Black women bitch and complain about these things but then go out and perm, glue and weave to look like the people they complain about. Can’t have it both ways!

  16. She better go and get Z a Bratz doll Sasha before Christmas because they will not be sell them any more. My daughter and her friends are crushed because they love Bratz because you could find one for all colors. My daughter and her friends are not into Barbie.

  17. Well then why can’t she go to the toy manufacturers and Disney and get it started? She definitely has the money and influence to do it. Or is she just seeking more publicity about her “exotic” children? She needs to get some black people in her life so Zahara won’t grow up trying to be like mommy…..is she going to want skin like mommy’s too? Whatever happened to her plans to adopt another African child so Zahara wouldn’t be the only black person in the family? Yeah right. Zahara needs to see other people who look like her and then she won’t long to be something other than what she is. The only time she sees a lot of black people is when she goes back to Africa to see all the poor little orphans who weren’t lucky enough to be adopted.

  18. This is not a new concern, but I be Mattel will develope one just because Angelina brought it up. Go figure., It is amazine that people in general do not see issues of others until it directly affects them.

  19. I agree with Angie and most dolls that are black seem to be the same as the white dolls only in a darker shade. I gave up on Barbie long ago. and Disney?? I’m a black woman and I adopted. I have a problem with people questioning the motivation of a white person adopting a black child. Shoot, I have every intention of adopting an Asian child, a white child, and as many more black children as I can. I prefer that my black daughter wear her hair as natural and free as any one else. I think that Zahara’s hair looks fine.

  20. Sadly it takes a A-list celeb to bring these issues to the mass media. What Angie said isn’t news to us. We know its hard to find black dolls and characters for our girls and boys to see themselves in. But the sadder thing is I am sure BCK will be the only celeb kid site that picks up this statement by Angie. Because if it doesn’t have anything to do with clothes and jet-setting the other blogs just don’t care.

  21. dont they have them? my cousin had one of the black ‘my scene’ doll and she had long curly hair about 5 years ago, then again she had every single doll going for a decade. hmmm…

    Charity… for the love of God, let the hair be. ‘Oh she can just hot comb it , or make it like this… ‘ NO, she can do what the heck she wants, cos lets face it, its not apocalypse now if her hair is natural, is it.

  22. MAKE IT HAPPEN ANGIE!
    ITS KINDA UNFAIR TO THROW THAT FINDING A BLACK SYLIST THING OUT THERE AT ANGIE. THINK ABOUT IT. WHAT DOES MOST BLACK HAIR STYLIST DO…… (RELAXERS). I HAVENT SEEN MUCH WHERE ITS THIS BIG THING WITH TAKING CARE OF THE MANY TRESSES OF HAIR. NOT JUST BLACK HAIR BUT HAIR PERIOD. YOU HAVE MANY PRODUCTS THAT DEAL WITH HAIR BUT MOST OF THEM ARE FOR STRAIGH OR RELAXED HAIR, YOU MAY EVEN HAVE MORE PRODUCTS FOR PERMED HAIR. AND NO PERMED AND RELAXED ARE NOT THE SAME THING.

  23. i feel you 100% angie. we have been asking the same dang question since barbie was invented. where is the kink? while people say things about her adopting an african child, I think it is commendable and believe she loves those kids with all of her heart.
    So before you hate; baby Z could have been somewhere malnourished and dusty looking…..i’m just saying.

    AND if any of you ever feel too many white folks are adopting OUR kids…..there are plenty that need adooption within your own community and you can start rescuing there. God Bless.

  24. Barbie did have an African American doll with curly hair (it wasn’t the usual type of hair, it was more like yarn). I had one! I can’t remember the name of the line but they all had careers. One was a director, one was a rockstar, one was an artist, etc.

    Of course she had no black features though other than the hair and skin color.

  25. KiKi, you’re right in some regards. But the fact remains that hair is a big issue with black people because black hair is shown as negative in the media,even in the remote parts of Africa when people get enough money they perm and straighten their hair. You want to know something else. Most black girls Dont like black dolls. Embrassing as it may be its the truth. I know because ive seen it with my two eyes while shopping during the holidays.

  26. They don’t have any because majority of black women are trying to perm their hair to look like white women. Why invest in something they won’t buy, why invest in something that they won’t appreciate. I love Angelina J. because she (a white woman) is teaching her african child to love herself the way she is. She’s not buying her white dolls, she want her to have things that are in her daughter image. As for looking for a black curly hair doll for years, have you done anything to try and get a curly hair doll? Angelina is powerful, hopefully she will have enough influence that Disney will create a doll. Black people we need to stop complaining about what we DON’T have and try to stand together as one and make sure we get. Dr. King and Rosa Parks took a stand in something they believed, if you believe there should be black curly hair dolls… take a stand and try to find support to ensure that one day there will be curly head dolls.

  27. Watch the Doll test from ”a girl like me” its a documentry I saw that someone sent to me. They did it with Five and six yr olds

  28. Zahara’s hair looks fine and she doesn’t need heat. Jolie treats all of her kids’ hair the same. Instead of saying Angie should do something…(she has, she’s adopted Zahara) here’s an entrepreneurial opportunity for people with Afrocentric features to create a line of dolls…not to wait for someone else to do it. There’s a need-so fill it! Hopefully the line of dolls will be whole heartedly supported by those who claim this is a true concern. It is…but I hope AA parents will enthusiastically buy dolls with afrocentric hair, minus the hot comb-perm kit accessories. Only time will tell.

  29. Well obviously Angelina just had twins in July. DUh!!!

    That was to the person who said “whatever happened to Angelina adopting an African sister for Zahara.”

  30. It doesn’t matter what our opinions are of Zahara because she’s not our child. She’s Angelina and Brad’s child and she can do her hair however she pleases.

  31. Aren’t the “Dora the Explorer” dolls of Hispanic/Latina origin? Dora and her little friend “Diego” I think were created with the Hispanic/”brown” market in mind. VERY SLOWLY I believe the toy industry is trying to work their way from “brown” into “black”….. but it’s a SLOWWWWWW, tentative, and cautious process it seems like….;-)

  32. I adore Zahara’s hair. I love the fact that Angelina Jolie is teaching her daughter that she is gorgeous just as she was created.

    Maybe the fact that such a high-profile mother is saying to the world “my dark-skinned, curly-haired daughter is beautiful” can help to shift the general perception of what is beautiful to include all of the little boys and girls who look like Zahara. Wouldn’t that be wonderful?

  33. GOD MADE SOME FOLKS HAIR STRAIGHT…SOME KINKY AND SOME CURLY. THE MAJORITY OF WHITE PEOPLE WEAR THEIR HAIR NATURAL ALBEIT MANY DO LIGHTEN IT UP. THE MAJORITY OF US BLACK FOLK FEEL WE HAVE TO STRAIGHTEN OUR HAIR AND PUT ON A WEAVE OR WIG TO BE PRETTY. THIS IS SOOOOOOO SAD. WE ARE SO BACKWARD AND TURLY MUST HATE OURSELVES TO BUY INTO THIS BELIEF SYSTEM. EVERY TIME I GO TO GET MY HAIR BRAIDED MY STYLIST KEEPS INSISTING ON GIVING ME A PERM AND ADDING A WEAVE BECAUSE #1 IT IS PROFITABLE FOR HER AND ALL THOSE KOREANS THAT IMPORT THE HAIR PRODUCTS AND #2 SHE HONESTLY BELIEVES IT. MOST KOREANS LOOK DOWN ON US YET WE ARE HELPING TO PAY THEIR 500K MORTGAGES BY BUYING INTO THE LIE. MEANWHILE WE ARE SPORTIN $300+ WEAVE JOBS AND LIVING PAYCHECK TO PAYCHECK AND PULLIN UP IN A BUS TO OUR RENTED APARTMENT. PEOPLE PLEASE WAKE UP AND STOP BEING AFRAID TO SHINE.

  34. I remember when I was going up (I am 28) Mattel had Barbies from around the world. I remember seeing African Barbies with short hair and curly hair. It may not be easy to find but the dolls are out there, maybe she should EBay it or go to a doll collector. These dolls were around when I was younger but today seems like they are less accessible.

    I have see pictures of Zahara’s mom along with women and little girls from Ethiopia and their hair does not look like that. But on a side note I see African American moms here in the USA with their children’s hair looking just as bad if not worse. At least Zahara has some curls. I know in Chicago there are Ethiopians mothers and fathers that have started a support group for US adoptive parents, mainly white mothers, to come to them for advise on how to style and manage their adoptive child hair and to educate them on Ethiopian traditions and culture. I believe that is wonderful!

  35. Actually barbie did have a African barbie doll out with curly hair.I bought one for my daughter a few years ago.

  36. I THINK ITS A BIT DEEPER THAN BLACK FEMALES ATTEMPTING TO LOOK WHITE. I HAVE A RELAXER, NOT BECAUSE I WANTED TO LOOK WHITE,IT WAS JUST THE THING WHEN I WAS A TEENAGER. NOW THAT I AM OLDER I FEEL THE NEED TO BE MORE NATURAL. YET I CANT SAY THAT RELAXERS WERE PUT OUT THERE FOR PROFIET LIKE MANY OTHER THINGS. WHO KNOWS. I DONT THINK THE MAJORITY OF BLACK GIRLS WERENT ATTEMPTING TO PORTRAY WHITE WOMEN WHEN IT CAME TO RELAXERS. SOME WHITE PEOPLE GET PERMS TO MAKE THEIR HAIR CURLY, SO THATS ANOTHER TOPIC. BUT ANGIE’S HEART SEEMS TO SHOW THROUGH, AND I’M GLAD SHE AND MR PITT ARE ADOPTING. FOR SOME PEOPLE IT TAKES A LOT TO DO

  37. Blahhhh blahhhh blahhhhh. Yeah there’s not a Barbie with a fro but there are other dolls like Kenya dolls. How about those for little Zahara? Angie probably doesn’t care because she’s just looking for PUBLICITY like another poster stated.

  38. I dont perm my hair because i want to look white..The last thing i want to do look is white (no offence)…My hair is nautrally curly mega soft and some what curly most times i go for the natrual look and when i want to switch my hair up then i perm t…I have 3 daughters that are 8, 6 and 3..and they dont get there hair permed or hot comb because i belived they are wayyyy to young.I do some times curl there hair but thats for like candy curls or somthing like that..But if they ever do decided to do so then hey thats up to them..My daughters never wear weave because i take care of there and its long enough where they dont need it… and all 3 of them know that ther beautiful! But with that said my daughters dont just walk out the house just any way now..

  39. I dont perm my hair because i want to look white..The last thing i want to do look is white (no offence)…My hair is nautrally curly mega soft and some what curly most times i go for the natrual look and when i want to switch my hair up then i perm t…I have 3 daughters that are 8, 6 and 3..and they dont get there hair permed or hot comb because i belived they are wayyyy to young.I do some times curl there hair but thats for like candy curls or somthing like that..But if they ever do decided to do so then hey thats up to them..My daughters never wear weave because i take care of there hair and its long enough where they dont need it… and all 3 of them know that ther beautiful! But with that said my daughters dont just walk out the house just any way now..

  40. Angie’s movies in 2008 made 1 billion dollars , she’s been on Time’s list of the most influential for the last 3 years. She was named the highest paid actress(15 million+) and the most powerful actress by the Hollywood Reporter.Not a week goes by when she isn’t on a magazine cover.She doesn’t need publicity.C and Dlist celebs need publicity.This quote was from a 4 page interview she did for her movie Changeling. Did she notice that there were no Black Barbies before she had 3 y.o. Ethopian of course not . Angie also mentioned in the article that her girls watch the Cinderella with Brandy and the multiethnic cast made several years ago.

  41. I completely applaud Angie for trying to instill self love in her adopted daughter. I am expecting my first child have been searching high and low for a black doll with kinky hair. I know they exist because i bought one for my younger sister about 5 years ago. I think you’re more likely to find one from smaller manufacturers as the one i found was a Barbie/Bratz like knockoff.

    I do agree that the black children of white mothers often have horrible hair but so do black children with black mothers. I’m tired of seeing 5 year olds with processed hair or extensions. What is so wrong with wearing your hair natural? In my opinion black women need to step away from the wigs, weaves and harsh chemicals and learn to take proper care of their hair.

  42. thank you angie, all the barbie dolls are either real black with straight hair or real lightskin! but they needed comb that baby hair she looking like a slave wit them ashy lips!

  43. I agree with Danni: I’m sick of people relating a perm directly to self hate. It often comes down to a matter of PREFERENCE. Just as there are white people with straight hair who choose to perm their hair to make it curly, asians who treat their hair to make it bone-straight or similar to afro texture, there are black people who prefer to wear their hair straight.

    I’m all for a more diverse range of dolls – especially dolls with darker skins and curly/kinky hair and I’m glad to see that there are more on the market – but some of you are complaining about dolls not having black features. I’m curious…what exactly would a doll with ‘black features’ look like?

  44. Things about hair…

    *For any race burning your hair is DAMAGING it!! It isn’t going to be as long or thick or whatever when it’s burned.

    *For the “white girls wear weave too”, as some video I seen said… The extensions are pretty much same texture as Caucasians, it isn’t the same texture for African descent females. (Not saying nothing about acting white that’s not what I was saying this comment for. Also did anyone see the “Beauty” episode on Oprah not too long ago? Weave is actually REAL hair from the Indians [India].)

    *Perms for people with straight hair is to curl the hair.

    —————————-
    I personally like hair that’s in the middle best. So I like Meditteranian hair because it’s thick, dark & just enough curl. But also hair like Mya’s (when not straight) is a fav of mine too. Though all hair is nice, I suppose.
    —————

    Now onto the photo…Good job for Angie for speaking out about it. Dolls will probably be made now since Angelina Jolie brought it up. As for her NOT DESTROYING (hot comb/relaxers) Zahara’s hair, I’m glad she isn’t. Her hair is beautiful out and curly. If Angie leaves Zahara’s hair away from all that damage, I’m sure she will have a nice length of hair when she decides to make it straight.(If she ever does)

  45. Me= The “Black features” that are being mentioned are probably meaning fuller lips & broader nose.

    Also I want to say…I loveeeeeeee Angelina/Brad.

  46. Z’s hair is beautiful just the way it is!

  47. @Krisskross Can you really be angry with her for not noticing? Angelina is a completely different person now than she was before. She was probably the typical self-absorbed white american actress who was not even concerned with life outside America (and i believe that this is what even she herself has said). Now she is far more aware and involved, and yes, because she now has a black daughter she is now noticing. I commend her for doing what she is doing with zaharah and undoubtedly Pax and Maddox. When white ppl don’t notice, we complain, when they do, we still gonna complain?? I don’t think thats a good attitude. I think we have all seen those situations where ppl adopt outside their race and make no effort to educate the kids on their culture/history. At least she is aware and making an effort.

  48. Zahara’s hair does not need a hot comb! If she has typical Ethiopian hair, she will be able to use a little oil and mousee to keep curls, until she decides what she wants to do with her hair. And who told you white chicks can’t care for black hair? My momma did fine with ours!

  49. […] children’s dolls today? Even millionaire celeb Angelina Jolie, who adopted an African daughter, spoke up on this […]

  50. “And who told you white chicks can’t care for black hair? My momma did fine with ours!” -GWEN

    I LOVE that comment! Some folks are just..uh nice word… WOW.

  51. zahra is cute but angie could comb her d hair its a funky mess zhenry seals son hair look worse than hers

  52. I agree, but she sounds as if she just learned that. That this has just happened. Not being able to find a doll with your hair…that’s life for a black girl growing up 24/7.
    I guess people have only just begun to realize how hard it is to be a black kid, especially a black little girl.

  53. […] children’s dolls today? Even millionaire celeb Angelina Jolie, who adopted an African daughter, spoke up on this recently […]

  54. Í applaud Angie´s comments….I´m white and have a daughter with my African (Cameroon) fiance over here in Germany….now…in Germany it´s even harder finding black puppets than in the States…but it´s still managable…..

    to the hair issue again…I applaud everyone who stays away from hair with all those strong chemicals…I´ve seen it with my man´s hair even…friend´s of mine…….my daughter Kandice´s hair is usually naturally….I comb it…from time to time I braid it as well…I don´t know why…but her hair is the way it is…I comb it daily….but don´t want to teach her that anything was wrong with it, by straightenin it and stuff like that….If she likes to do so later when she is older….fine….I won´t start it tho

  55. Interestingly, every black female child says that. The media trains Black girls to think straight hair is right and curly hair is second rate. Hence, even with a Black mother Zahara would want her hair straight. It’s the American dream for straight hair.

  56. co-sign with jessica.
    it is clear that mattel feels comfortable catering to one standard and even though black or spanish americans are minorities, most of this world does not look like barbie, so theres no excuse. they make millions from place were girls don’t look like barbie. why dont celebs like wyclef and his wife request different types of barbies for there daughter?

  57. Given that my two daughters hail from a multicultural background, biracial mom and latino father, finding multicultural dolls can be a bit daunting. In comes the Karito dolls . Multicultural dolls with a Universal purpose-to make the receiving child happy while donating a portion of the proceeds to children in need world wide. These dolls are beautiful and frankly kick American Girl in the who ha! They even come complete with a passport. Now how does that sound for the jet setting child like Zahara? And yes there is an exquisite doll named Lulu from Nigeria that has beautiful curly hair like Zahara.

Leave a Reply

 
