CHRISTOPHER WALLACE JR. LEARNS ABOUT HIS DAD THROUGH FILM

christopherwallacejr

Picture for use on BCK courtesy of Interview magazine

12-year-old Christopher “CJ” Wallace Jr was about four months old when his father, the legendary “Notorious B.I.G.,” was fatally shot. Christopher Wallace Jr. a.k.a Biggie Jr, whose mother is singer Faith Evans, will star in upcoming film “Notorious” as the younger version of his legendary father. Read below as Wallace’s mother, Voletta Wallace, talks to her grandson about stepping into his father’s very big shoes.

VOLETTA WALLACE: I was deeply thrilled that you got the chance to play my son-your father-in the movie. I remember one day I saw you on the set walking with Angela [Bassett, who plays Voletta Wallace in Notorious]. It made me think about how when my son was small, I used to call him Chrissy-Pooh. I got his name, and yours, from the Winnie-the-Pooh books-Christopher Robin was the main character. But I’m telling you, when I was watching you on the monitor, I went boo-hooin’ seeing you because I was so deeply touched. What did you do to prepare to play your father? When he passed away, I don’t think you were 4-months-old.

CHRISTOPHER WALLACE JR.: Well, my mom told me some stuff that he used to do, like how he rubbed his nose sometimes. And then I got some of my character’s scenes like six or seven months before we actually shot the film, so I went over that stuff a lot. I was really ready.

VW: Well, it looked like the real thing when I saw you crying in one scene. How did you do that?

CW: Wendy, my acting coach, said that I should think about if he was alive, how I miss him, and, yeah, I just got really into it.

VW: Would you consider that the hard part, or was it the easy part?

CW: The hard part was the crying.

VW: It looked easy to me!

CW: It wasn’t that easy, though. I just thought about things in the past and about how successfulhe would be if he was still alive.

VW: I saw a YouTube piece where you and your friend Josh were rapping. You think you’re gonna want to do that yourself in the future?

CW: Probably. But first I want to go to college. And I want to graduate and study film.

VW: Oh, excuse me! That’s nice to hear. Do you think you might want to try acting again?

CW: Yeah, of course.

VW: You would?

CW: Yeah. It was an experience I’d never had before. You learn a lot about the person you’re playing.

Courtesy of Interview Magazine

~ by blackcelebritykids on December 16, 2008.

9 Responses to “CHRISTOPHER WALLACE JR. LEARNS ABOUT HIS DAD THROUGH FILM”

  1. Oh My God! He is the smartest and cutest kid ever. I loved his father so much. He was the sexiest man I have ever seen or met. He inspired me to meet and fall in love with a BIG man. My husband adores me and my small frame and he feels lucky to have such as sexy wife and I feel lucky to have such an adoring and loving husband. He really appreciates and respects me. I don’t look at his size (unlike others) I look at his heart. I’m in love and it is going on 9 years now! Thanks Biggie for opening up a sister’s eyes to the love of a BIG man! You other women need to stop being closed minded and look into the love of a REAL man! Give them a chance. Give them one more chance. RIP BIG Forever!

  2. He looks like his dad!!
    I wonder if he spends much time with his grandmother?

  3. he seems a beautiful child who has his head screwed on. I love that he doesnt seem fazed by his fathers legacy. Faith did a excellent job raising him!

  4. LISA LISA, you go girl!!!! i tip my hat to you and bow down to you, let me tell you something, looks dont mean a darn thing, always look at the heart, because the heart will make a person the most beautiful person in the room, people think if you got a goodlookin, fine as wine person on your arms, you are doing it!! NOPE, looks dont mean sh###t then they wonder why they stay in drama and depressed over this but oh so fine person, get real, looks never meant a thing to me, i always look inside a person, i had my share of fine men, i mean fine as he####lll men to, and most of them was fine to look at but their attitudes S$$CKED, they had nasty dispositions, becuase they think their SH$$T dont stink, i am sure there are good ones out there, but for the most part, looks dont mean a da@@mn thing

  5. This interview reads like CJ and his grandmother hardly know each other let alone spend any real time together.

  6. awww he looks just like daddy

  7. Looks like his dad, sadly in a bad way.

  8. Joe I wonder the same thing…

  9. HE LOOKS LIKE DAD CJ ALWAYS BEEN CUTE TO ME AND IM GLAD HE GOT TO PLAY HIS DAD IN THE MOVIE ANYWAY GOOD LUCK IN LIFE CJ.

Leave a Reply

 
